NCMHOF Announces the 2023 Award Recipients

The National Cowgirl Museum to Present Awards at Hall of Fame Induction Luncheon

2023 Patsy Montana Entertainer Award and 2023 Mitzi Lucas Riley Award

FORT WORTH, TEXAS (September 29, 2023) – The National Cowgirl Museum and Hall of Fame is pleased to present the 2023 Patsy Montana Entertainer Award and 2023 Mitzi Lucas Riley Award at the annual Hall of Fame Induction Luncheon and Ceremony. The Patsy Montana Entertainer Award will be presented to singer- songwriter and actress, Lainey Wilson. The Mitzi Lucas Riley Award will be presented to Lorene Agather and Sainty Nelsen.

The Patsy Montana Entertainer Award was named for 1987 Hall of Fame Honoree Patsy Montana. This
award recognizes those whose work in the entertainment field continues to advance the tradition of the cowgirl in the areas of film, television, music, writing and theatre.

Wilson began her journey to stardom 12 years ago in a camper trailer, after leaving her small-town farming community in Baskin, LA. Blending the traditional country sound with a modern retro flare, her signature “Bell Bottom Country” style has led her to being crowned the most nominated artist at the 2023 CMT Music Awards, as well as receiving the 2023 Billboard Women in Music’s Rulebreaker Award. A singer-songwriter and actress, Wilson is a shining voice in the music industry, reflected as the leading female nominee and winner at the 2023 ACM awards, with Female Vocalist of the Year, Album of The Year and Visual Media and Musical Event of the Year. Making her acting debut in Season 5 of Paramount’s revered hit series “Yellowstone,” Wilson played a musician named Abby, where she premiered her original song “Smell Like Smoke” as well as showcasing other hits off her recent album including “Watermelon Moonshine” and “Hold My Halo.”

The Mitzi Lucas Riley Award was established in honor of the 1996 Hall of Fame Honoree Mitzi Lucas Riley. This award recognizes young adults who promote Western heritage in the community through education and volunteerism. This award encourages involvement in preserving the Western culture and legacy.

Lorene Agather has always loved being involved in the National Cowgirl Museum and Hall of Fame, most recently as the co-chair for the 2nd and 3rd Annual Desert Rose Luncheon. This event engages the traditional and nontraditional cowgirls, while raising funds for the Museum’s many educational programming opportunities. Agather lends her time and energy to many non-profit and philanthropic organizations, serving on the board of the Fort Worth Science and History Museum, the Fort Worth Stock Show and Rodeo and is involved in the Saving Hope Foundation. Most recently, she has co-founded L Marketing Consultants, a digital marketing and advertising firm that empowers companies with the tools, insights, and expertise to cultivate and grow their businesses.

Sainty Nelsen was honored to serve as a first-time co-chair of the 3rd Annual Desert Rose Luncheon, as her roots are in the Western lifestyle of Fort Worth. She is a 3x Emmy Award, Tony Award, Drama Desk Award, GLAAD Award, Drama League Award, and Outer Critic Circle Award winning actor and producer. Currently, she stars in the world’s number-one children’s animation show, “Gabby’s Dollhouse,” on Netflix. She proudly holds the title of youngest Emmy Award winning female producer in history for her work on Peacock’s, “The Bay.” She is also a Member of the Jewel Charity Ball, Creel Family Philanthropy Foundation Speaker, The Net Speaker, Texas Health Foundation Committee, All Saints Episcopal School Early Childhood Committee Member, FWAFA Gala Honorary Chair, Cook Children’s Hospital “Experience the Mission” Member, Steeplechase Debutante and Barnaby Member.

These awards will be presented during the 47th Annual Induction Luncheon and Ceremony on Tuesday, Nov. 14, 2023, at Dickies Arena where the Museum will also induct five women into the Hall of Fame.

About the National Cowgirl Museum and Hall of Fame

The National Cowgirl Museum and Hall of Fame honors and celebrates women, past and present, whose lives exemplify the courage, resilience and independence that helped shape the West, and fosters an appreciation of the ideals and spirit of self-reliance they inspire. Established in 1975, the Museum is considered an invaluable national educational resource for its exhibits, research library and rare photograph collection. In 2019, the Museum opened the Kit Moncrief Galleries and It’s Never Just a HorseTM exhibition. Located at 1720 Gendy Street Fort Worth, Texas 76107. Hours of operation are Tuesday – Saturday from 10 a.m. – 4 p.m. Admission is $12 for adults (13+); $9 for seniors (60+); $6 for children (ages 3-12); free for military, first responders and children 3 and under with paid admission. For more news and information visit or call 817.336.4475 and follow on Facebook, Instagram, and YouTube.