Anne W. Marion

At the helm of the Burnett Oil Company, The Burnett Foundation, and Burnett Ranches (including the 6666), LTD, Anne Windfohr Marion contributed to the cultural expansion of Fort Worth and other communities across the nation. As the great-granddaughter of Samuel Burk Burnett, founder of the 6666 Ranch, she steadfastly supported the preservation of Western heritage. Her grandfather, Thomas Lloyd Burnett, was at one time married to the legendary Cowgirl Honoree Lucille Mulhall. When her mother, fellow Cowgirl Honoree Anne Burnett Tandy died in 1980, she took the reins of the vast Burnett ranches.  In 1993, she brought racing back to the 6666’s by purchasing racing champion Dash For Cash and by securing Special Effort and Streakin Six for stud duty.  The ranch expanded to include a deluxe facility for housing 160 visiting broodmares. The American Quarter Horse Association honored the Burnett Ranches with the Best Remuda Award in 1994 and the inaugural Legacy Award in 1997.

Like her mother, Marion was a passionate patron of the arts, both serving as trustees to The Museum of Modern Art in New York City. Her significant contributions brought new life to the museums of the Cultural District of Fort Worth, Texas. An ardent supporter of The National Cowgirl Museum and Hall of Fame, Marion championed the Museum’s mission for nearly a quarter of a century. She was the driving force behind the new home for The Modern Art Museum of Fort Worth, which is the oldest art museum in Texas and one of the oldest museums in the western United States. The new space was designed by the world-renowned architect Tadao Ando and opened in 2002. Marion and her husband, John, established the Georgia O’Keeffe Museum in Santa Fe, New Mexico in 1997. She served as the chair of the board of trustees until 2016. Under her leadership, the museum grew to include Cowgirl Honoree O’Keeffe’s two historic homes and studios in northern New Mexico, at Abiquiu and Ghost Ranch, preserving the history of one of the most significant artists of the 20th century.

2005 Cowgirl Honoree – Texas

1938 – 2020